New Election Commissioners Sworn into Office

New Election Commissioners Sworn into Office

January 19, 2012

The newly appointed members of the Independent Election Commission (IEC) took the oath of office on Thursday administered by President Karzai.

The ceremony was held in the Presidential Palace, where the new members: Mohammad Husain Garzewani, Sayd Mohammad Hashem Folad, Ghulam Dastgir Azad, Momena Yari and Rida Azimi all recited the oath of allegiance to office read out by President Karzai. In presence were also IEC Chief Fazl Ahmad Manawi and Head Secretariat Abdullah Ahmadzai.

The new commissioners swore allegiance to office and promised to carry out their duties with honesty, loyalty, independence and impartiality consistent to the provisions enshrined in the Constitution and other laws of the country.

The President congratulated the new members on their new assignment and wished them success in fulfilling their duties.



For further information, please contact:

Office of the Spokesperson to the President of Afghanistan,


Tel.:   +93 (20) 210 2853


          +93 (20) 210 3705


You May Also Like

Fixing Failed States: From Theory to Practice